In Michigan, drivers are required by law to stay at the scene when there’s been a car accident. If you were hit by a driver who refuses to stop to provide information about the accident and simply flees, you've been involved in a hit-and-run. You auto insurance company will define hit & run as one where the driver and car cannot be identified. The Joseph Dedvukaj Firm can fight for your rights.
With these types of accidents, victims often have difficulty getting financial compensation for hit-and-run injuries or property damage because the at fault driver has fled the scene. The reasons why drivers may leave the scene of an accident is because they were drinking, don't have car insurance, or even a driver's license. Or they might have an outstanding warrant for their arrest.
These drivers leave behind injured people who need medical treatment and are faced with mounting expenses for health care and property damage. Our lawyers can go over all your options for financial compensation.
If you have uninsured (UM) or underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage on your insurance policy or the vehicle you were in at the time of the crash. We can help make sure you have exhausted all of the possible sources of being fully compensated for damages. If the at-fault driver was identified, we can help you pursue a claim against the responsible driver or owner of the vehicles. Michigan makes owners responsible for injuries and damages their vehicles cause. We will leave no stone unturned in pursuit of justice for you and your family.
Under Michigan law, motorists have an obligation to stop after being in an accident. In Michigan, law enforcement agencies take hit-and-run accidents very seriously. They are considered criminal offenses and will be vigorously prosecuted.
Hit-and-run is defined as any car accident where the vehicle driver involved in a traffic accident hits an object or another car and the driver doesn’t stop but leaves the scene intentionally without providing their contact information or helping someone who was injured in the accident.
If you are the victim of a hit-and-run accident:
If you were hurt in a hit-and-run accident, get medical help and then legal advice as soon as possible. In Michigan, you have three years from the date of your accident to take sue if the driver is identified. What’s extremely importat is, we start work on your case right away before evidence is lost or destroyed and the memories of any witness’s fade. Your insurance company will also require that you report the hit and run accident within 30 days and to the police within 24 hours.
Victims of hit-and-run accidents can have a hard time getting compensated for their injuries, because the driver that hit them ran away. We can help you find a way to pay for your doctor’s bills, wage loss, household help, and any in home care. You own no fault insurance coverage or that of a family member can be a source of payment. As a last resort, if you don’t have household car insurance the State of Michigan Assigned Claims Plan can pay your benefits. If you have UM coverage on your insurance policy, a personal injury lawyer can help get you maximum compensation for your damages. And, if the driver who hit you is identified, a lawyer can also help you pursue a lawsuit against the driver and if the driver is underinsured, you may be eligible for UIM benefits. Our car accident lawyer can explain your accident report, which is a key piece of evidence when trying to get financially compensated for your damages, especially for UM and UIM insurance benefits.
A car accident can leave victims worried and emotional, and there are many things that an attorney can do for you if you are ever involved in a hit-and-run accident. You can handle your own claim but having an experienced lawyer representing you can make a huge difference in getting maximum financial compensation for all your accident-related damages. Speak to a Michigan lawyer regarding your case is a good idea, even if you ultimately don’t have a case. Fully explore your legal options by contacting an experienced personal injury lawyer – we offer a free case evaluation and work on a contingency fee basis.
Our law firm has been helping the injured in Michigan more than 30 years. We know an injury from a car accident can affect victims and their families physically, emotionally, and financially. Our expert attorneys take your case seriously from the beginning. We work hard to build strong case for you and help you recover the highest amount of financial compensation possible.
We know that cost can be a concern. When you hire our firm to represent you, we work on a contingency fee basis. We give you the no win, no fee guarantee.
Call our top rated lawyers and established law firm that people have trusted for decades. We handle cases as Metro Detroit lawyers and throughout Michigan. Contact us at 248-352-2110 or toll free at 866-HIRE-JOE to schedule your free consultation with our experienced car accident lawyers. We’ll review the details of your hit-and-run accident, go over your options and answer all the questions you have. Better Business Bureau Rated A+.