No Fees Unless We Win
Auto Accident 1.16.2022

How long do I have to report a Michigan car accident? What You Need To Know.


You must report a car accident "immediately" in Michigan. Michigan law does not define the word immediately, but would assign the ordinary meaning to the word, which usually means "at once; instantly" in the plain english dictionary .

Michigan law (Michigan Compiled Laws section 257.622) requires you to immediately report a car accident in Michigan if any of the following apply:

  • Injuries
  • Loss of life
  • Property damage that appears to be $1000 or more

You Must Stay at the Scene

Michigan law requires any driver who was involved in an accident to stay at the scene to give identification. As car accident lawyers in MIchigan we recommend that you promptly report all accidents to local law enforcement. If you are not sure which police agency has authority, you can contact 911 emergency or the Michigan State Police from your cell phone.

Michigan State Police 24-hour Phone Line

From your cell phone, dial  800-495-4677 or 911 emergency will notify the proper law enforcement agency and/or send an officer to the scene. This will also send paramedics to the scene.

Reporting an Accident to Law Enforcement

If anyone in the accident is injured, call 9-1-1 to get help from any police agency in the area.  Try to stay calm and give as much information as you can to the dispatcher. Follow the dispatcher’s instructions to stay safe or give assistance to the injured.

Other Required Actions Following a Car Accident in MIchigan

There are several other actions you need to take after a car accident. Once you have called for police and/or medical help, if it is safe to do so move your car out of traffic (if your car is drivable). Get off the main traveled portion of the road and onto the shoulder, or if you are in the left lane of a divided highway, onto any available median.

If you cannot move your vehicle, put on your emergency hazard blinkers. If you have roadside flares or emergency triangles put them around your car. you should take steps to alert passing motorists and hopefully help avoid another collision.

Share Your Identification and Insurance Information with All Involved Drivers

Michigan law requires that you give contact information such as your name, phone number, and insurance information to all involved drivers after a car accident in MIchigan. You will need to keep your drivers license, valid insurance certificate, and vehicle registration available to show to the police when they arrive at the scene of the crash.

Our Recommendations as Car Accident Lawyers in Michigan

An injury lawyer in MIchigan will recommend that you report all accidents, even if they appear to be minor. There are a several reasons that the team at the Law Offices of Joseph Dedvukaj recommends you file a police report:

  • Reporting the collision helps verify for insurance claim purposes when you file your no-fault benefits claim for accident-related injuries.
  • You can use any tickets  police officers issued to the other at fault driver to show negligence in an insurance claim.
  • Police must get the names and contact numbers of all involved people including eye witnesses, which may be have information useful to proving liability.
  • The other driver may claim the accident never happened if you don’t report it.
  • The other driver may claim you caused the crash if you don’t report the accident.
  • You can be charged with a misdemeanor if you don’t report a car accident to the police

Car Accident Scene Evidence

We also recommend that you use your cell phone to take pictures or video of the following, if possible:

  • Exterior and/or interior damages to vehicles
  • The vehicles at the scene including landmarks and street signs or other damaged structures
  • Skid marks and gouge marks
  • Any debris including vehicle parts, tree limbs, or other objects that were part of the accident

Once You Have Reported the Accident and Received Medical Attention, Call a MIchigan Car Accident Lawyer 866-HIRE-JOE

Unless law enforcement has reported the accident, you must file a driver’s report accident report immediately after a car accident in Michigan. You should also get yourself medical attention. Some conditions, like whiplash, can take a few hours or days to appear. It is important that you document your physical and mental health in order for you to qualify for financial compensation.

You should call a car accident lawyer in Michigan as soon as you are well enough to do so. The Law Offices of Joseph Dedvukaj offer free consultations at your home, the hospital, or our private offices. You may qualify to recover compensation for damages such as medical bills, car repairs (mini tort), lost pay, pain and suffering, and other damages.

The Joseph Dedvukaj Firm Team Is Waiting for Your Call

Our car accident lawyers will pursue compensation for you on a contingency basis – only pay fees if you win money damages. For a free, no-obligation case evaluation, please call the Law Offices of Joseph Dedvukaj today at 866-HIRE-JOE.

Share This Story

If you find this information useful, consider sharing this story to your social media channels. Help us make this community a better place.
No Fees Unless We Win
The Joseph Dedvukaj Firm, P.C represents Michigan clients in a full range of personal injury matters. If you have been injured, contact us for a free consultation.
The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute a client relationship.
smartphoneuploadcrossmenu linkedin facebook pinterest youtube rss twitter instagram facebook-blank rss-blank linkedin-blank pinterest youtube twitter instagram